New running trainers time – Brooks ADRENALINE GTS 11 review

31 Aug

The one thing I hate about running is the time when your old faithful trainers have had their day and its time for them to say “good bye!” and go to the trainer place in the sky (or the back of the shoe cupboard). When you find a good pair of running shoes that are comfortable, light and do what you want them to do its great! The downside is that you can also find and buy trainers that appear OK on first impressions, but don’t work with you at all!

I’ve had a couple of bad experiences with new trainers not fitting correctly or giving me blisters which can pretty much make them an expensive (in some cases) mistake. I’ve even had this happen to me after having my run analyzed on a treadmill at a shop ‘specializing’ in running equipment. Unfortunately, once you’ve been out on your new toys for a few miles, and discover they’re not suited to you, divorcing them and taking them back for a refund or exchange isn’t so simple. Many shops will not accept trainers back if you’ve been outside on them and the soles are scuffed. You see my dilemma.

Newton 00309 Trainers

So a month or so ago I slipped on my much loved Newton‘s and released that I could hear air coming out of them as I put weight on my foot. Not a good sign! After examining the bottoms I realised that they were completely worn out.

I originally bought the Newton (model 00309) trainers because they promote a more natural more efficient run. They are also very light (270g) and the most comfortable running shoes I have worn to date, so it was with some trepidation that I started to browse around for replacements.

I did consider buying another pair of Newtons and I would have been totally happy to do this, but I also wanted to see what else was out there and I didn’t want to limit my options.

I have little demands on a running shoe, but the main boxes that a new shoe would have to tick are:

  • Support – I over pronate so I needed a shoe with some support.
  • Weight – As light weight as possible.
  • Comfort – Obviously
  • Price – I don’t mind spending money on a well made, light, comfortable running shoe, but it has to be a realistic price. I’m not one who buys simply for a brand name.

So I started to look around as was amazed at the choice there is nowadays for running footwear! Choice is good for consumers, but can be a little frustrating and overwhelming, especially if you’re like me and just want an item to do a very simple and straight forward task – like allow you to run, with no bells and whistles.

After some research on the internet and running websites I discovered a pair of trainers that looked to be perfect for me, these were the Brooks ADRENALINE GTS 11. They had very strong reviews on a number of sites and very little negative feedback. The deal was clinched when I wondered over to my favorite running website (runnersworld.co.uk) and they were highly recommended their also, both by the sites reviewers and readers. To see the Runnersworld review click here and to see the Brooks ADRENALINE GTS 11 site click here.

Brooks ADRENALINE GTS 11

The purchase was delayed for a couple of weeks as I had a holiday to the USA and I wanted to see if I could get them cheaper over there. It would also give me a chance to try a pair on. A long way to go to try on a pair of trainers (or sneakers) I know, but living where I do no local sports shops stocked them. I tried a pair on and loved them, although it turned out, after visiting a number of shops that I couldn’t get them cheaper in the US.

Once returned safely to the UK shores I ordered a pair and have been using them for a few weeks now.

First impressions are good. No blisters, reasonably light (although heavier than my old Newtons by about 50g), responsive and well made. I always reserve final judgement until I’ve done at least 100-150 miles on them as I’ve had trainers in the past that appear OK at first, but then start giving blisters on the arch of the foot.

All in all I’m happy with my purchase and would recommend the Brooks to anyone considering buying a pair. Although always remember to pick a shoe that’s right for you and read the reviews. People have many different foot falls, over pronation to under pronation, etc so pick a shoe that’s right for you.

2 Responses to “New running trainers time – Brooks ADRENALINE GTS 11 review”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Great North run – Two days to go. Lets get organised! « ScribsBlog - September 16, 2011

    […] in the elements with the added bonus of not getting to over heated. I’ll quite happily put my running shoes on and go out in a downpour. Try it, its pretty […]

  2. Update: Brooks ADRENALINE GTS 11 « ScribsBlog - October 6, 2011

    […] Sep I blogged a while back about my new Brooks ADRENALINE GTS 11 trainers that I purchased after my trusty, long suffering […]

Leave a Reply

