Cooking on the move, get a Trangia!

21 May

Trangia stove

I’ve always used a gas stove when camping or out in the wilds, but I’ve just bought a Trangia after seeing a review of them. The trangia is an alcohol-burning portable stove manufactured by a Swedish company.

If you search for ‘Trangia’ on utube you can see them in action.

I managed to pick one up at about half the price of a new one from ebay and its in near new condition!

These stoves are designed primarily for backpackers, with a focus on light weight, durability and simple design. Trangia’s are unique in that the entire packaged stove, including pots, is not significantly larger than a standard camp cooking pot, whereas with my current equipment I have to take a gas bottle, stove fitting and my mess tins.

I’m planning a wild camping trip mid June, with my son (his first wild camp) so I’ll give it a go and feedback.

Leave a Reply

