Bupa Great North run – Training thoughts

21 May

OK, The Bupa Great North run is in just under four months away. That gives me plenty of time to focus my training. My running, for past few months has been focused on the Keswick to Barrow (K to B), thus aimed at distance and stamina and not necessarily speed. Now I need to change my game plan to look at a shorter distance (well thirteen miles is shorter when compared to the K to B) and improve my average pace, which I’ve never been that interested in homing before.

So what’s the plan? Firstly I need the increased the runs I do per week. Normally I do about three:

  • Tuesday/Thursday        – Walk to work (2.7 miles) and run home (6 to 8 miles).
  • Sunday morning run    – 8+ miles.

The problem, as always, is fitting this into a busy life style and I’ve worked out I can add a Monday and possibly a Friday run into the schedule which means I’ve covered all the basis around how often I run.

Next is to think about distance and speed and initially I’ve come up with the following plan:

  • Monday   – 5 mile run medium and fast.
  • Tuesday   – 8 to 10 mile run medium.
  • Thursday – 8 to 10 mile run medium.
  • Friday      – 3 to 6 mile run fast.
  • Sunday    – 8 to 15 mile run slow to medium.

This plan isn’t adding much more to my existing run days so I’m going to give it a go and see how I get along.

I’m also going to look at the Runkeeper FitnessClasses as these include classes done by professionals for half and full marathons, amongst others.

I’ll keep you updated.

p.s. Don’t forget I’m doing the Great North run for the Children with Cancer charity, so if you’d like to sponsor me I’d be very grateful. You can sponsor me online at http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/PaulScribbans.

3 Responses to “Bupa Great North run – Training thoughts”

  1. Lesley Wallace May 21, 2011 at 18:09 #

    I’ve enrolled on the half marathon fitness class starting tomorrow – enrol and we can do it together!! (so to speak!) lol

    • scrib64 May 21, 2011 at 18:22 #

      That sounds like a plan. Are you doing a marathon?

      • Lesley Wallace May 21, 2011 at 19:54 #

        If I was doing a marathon I would have enrolled on the marathon class as it is I’m doing a half marathon!!! lol xx

Leave a Reply

