Keswick to Barrow Training: 6 March 2011 – 18 MILES!

6 Mar

OK today’s training was a bit interesting. I had run home from work twice last week, but because I missed last Sundays big run, because of my daughter bike accident, I decided to shake things up a bit.

I live on a peninsula so it seems a great idea to run from coast to coast. It started off well with the traditional first mile or two being ‘difficult’ until my body kicked in and the got into my stride. I headed for the coast road which, unsurprisingly goes to the coast. After 20 minutes I was running beside the sea with a nice fresh breeze to cool me down. I then headed northwest inland towards to other end of the peninsula.

About one hour and 50 minutes later I reached the other side after covering 15 miles. I was a bit perplexed about how far I had actually run, I wasn’t expecting it to be that far and  headed straight for home, keeping in mind the hot mug of coffee and bacon sandwich waiting for me.

Now thats one thing about ‘real running’ as apposed to using a treadmill. On a treadmill if you get tierd you can stop. If you’re outdoor running and your miles away from home and you get tired you are more likley to carry on and complete the run, unless of course you ring some one up and beg them to pick you up. 😉

After studying my runkeeper activity I found I’d gone a little, to say the least, out of my way. But then again it was a good run and I’m certainly feeling it now. I think next week though I’ll keep it under 18 miles!

2 Responses to “Keswick to Barrow Training: 6 March 2011 – 18 MILES!”

  1. Lake District March 21, 2011 at 10:36 #

    Great article and as I also live in Cumbria I decided after 2 years of no keep fit to open Lake District Walks and to help motivate myself I am doing Free walks where anyone who signs up is Free to come along and join in. Not sure how successful it will be, although it gets me out in the Lake District National Park and the first walk will be Blencathra. If anyone is interested simply sign up and come along and enjoy.

    • admin March 21, 2011 at 17:44 #

      I like your website and will add it to my links page, I might even join you on the Blencathra walk.

Leave a Reply

