Running baby steps

6 Feb

Someone said to me the other week that there was no way they could do the long runs I do, even though they’d love to be able to!

I mentioned at that point that when I first started running, I could hardly get to the end of the street before nearly collapsing! They were surprised, but encouraged that they could, in time, achieve their goal.

Baby steps is the key!

Dont think you can run a marathon on your first trip out, instead start off with a short run you can manage, and build it up from there. Thats what I did. And yes it’s hard at first if you aren’t used to exercise, but keep doing it and soon you’ll be so happy you did and have a real sense on achievement!

2 Responses to “Running baby steps”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Running baby steps – Part 2. « ScribsBlog - October 8, 2011

    […] did a brief blog post a while back about ‘Running Baby steps‘ and after talking to someone in the Runnersworld forums, who had just taken up running to […]

  2. London Marathon 2012 race report « ScribsBlog - May 13, 2012

    […] 2 weeks left before the running trainers go back on and when they do I’m going back to doing baby steps for while and work up my mileage slowly. The worst thing I could do now is to try and do a few 10 […]

Leave a Reply

