How I lost weight and kept it off. Part 1

12 Aug

Ok, So a lot of people who have known me for a while were impressed with my weight loss over the past couple of years. A lot more have been even more impressed because I have kept the weight off – no yoyo diets here! This is the area where people seem to get stuck. They can loose weight, but soon put it back on. I wanted to write this blog to share my experience in the hope it may help/encourage others.

So how did I do this miracle after being over three stone over weight? Did I go on a special ground breaking diet? Did I take up exercise? Did I join a gym? Did I have an operation ?

The truth is that I did a mixture of SOME the above, but the underlying thing that made my achievement possible was that I came to the conclusion that to loose weight and to get healthily that I’d have to change my life style.

Its often helpful to break down problems into smaller components and then to be able to visualize and work on the individual issues. For the sake of argument lets call this process ‘ScribLogic’.

ScribLogic lesson – Your bodies energy usage: I applied ScribLogic to my weight problem, and this is what I initially came up with.

To put it simply, think of your body as a barrel (ok not the most flattering examples but bear with me here). This barrel has a tap in the bottom. This tap represents your, erm, waste, burnt energy, heat loss, etc (i.e. your bodies output).
Now you fill the barrel half full with water. The water represents what you put into your body (i.e. food and drink – yes it’s not just food that as calories), or to pit it another way energy. Now, for the sake of argument let’s say this barrel, half filled with water, represents a healthy body and weight for you. With me so far?

Now we open the tap in the bottom of the barrel and at he same time turn on the hose pipe feeding the barrel at the top. The hose pipe delivers the exact same amount of water that is being lost from the hole, so the barrel should remain half full and thus we have a healthy input and output that is well balanced. Or, to put it another way we have a healthy well balanced diet.

OK, Now we increase the input by turning up the hose pipe a bit. What happens? You guessed it, the water level in the barrel rises which represents you putting on weight because you are eating more.

Now we can play with this idea a bit.

So, you decided you’ve put on a bit of weight. So you start exercising more (resented by the hole being enlarged slightly), so the water level stops going up and either stays the same or reduces. Then you start eating more sensibly, thus the water level goes down. You get my drift.

To be healthy whatever goes in needs to be balanced with what goes out. When I sat and thought about this, using the barrel ScribLogic, although obvious to most people, it helped hammer it home. I released that eating and drinking to excess, although enjoyable, was actually making me more miserable. I remember saying to myself “what do you want, quick hits of pleasure when you eat and drink, or the more permanent pleasure of knowing you are healthy AND achieving something!”. After all its easy to eat and drink too much, it can be harder not to.

The answer was simple – see part 2.

5 Responses to “How I lost weight and kept it off. Part 1”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How I lost weight and kept it off. Part 2 | Scribs-Blog - February 28, 2011

    […] from part 1. Me – Then and […]

  2. Keswick to Barrow 2011 – The results. « ScribsBlog - May 15, 2011

    […] Its been a week since the Keswick to Barrow last Saturday. Things have returned pretty much to normal, what with work, the kids, recovering, etc! As expected my body has been on a massive ‘give me food!’ protest. With last weeks exertions my body has gone into mad repair and recharge mode. Whilst I’ve been obeying these requests I’ve also been mindful of not over doing it. Having enough to satisfy me without being too stupid, but with the odd treat, considering the circumstances. This can be an important point. An an analogy I sometimes use is that ‘it might be great exercise to go on a 10 mile hike but if you come home hungry and stuff down 5 potions of curry’s and rice you haven’t really achieved much! In fact you’ll probably end up putting more weight on!’ OK, maybe a bit exaggerated, but you get my point. You need to refuel with whats been lost and whats required for repair. The trick is knowing how much is too much, and how much is too little. My tip for this is to eat sensibly and then wait a while (20 – 30 minutes or so) if you’re still hungrey then have a little more. You’d be surprised that once you let your food settle you often don’t need anything else. You’ll notice I said ‘sensibly‘, if you eat sugary foods (and drink) your more likely to feel hungry sooner.  I talk about this further in my ‘How I lost weight’ sections. […]

  3. Keswick to Barrow 2011 – This years lessons learnt « ScribsBlog - May 19, 2011

    […] Carbing up the week (four to five days) before the event. Lots of bread, pasta and rice meals. Felt bloated towards the end of the week though – reminded me of fat Scrib! […]

  4. How I lost weight and kept it off. Part 2 « ScribsBlog - June 20, 2011

    […] Continued from part 1. […]

  5. Running while away? No excuse here! « ScribsBlog - October 27, 2011

    […] but I’ve found that my attitude has totally changed from a few years ago when I was totally unfit. What do I mean? OK here are some […]

Leave a Reply

